Review of Metallica's If Darkness Had a Son

Single Review: Metallica – If Darkness Had a Son

Metallica released the third single off their forthcoming 72 Seasons album (out April 14) “If Darkness Had a Son” a six-minute plus massive hard rocker that begins like a Metallica song should, with hardened drums and metal head guitar.

But to say the band now bats three for three on tracks off the new album might need further review. “If Darkness Had a Son” lacks a bit in melody that the previous two released tracks embrace and flows in the vein more akin to the heavy and slower “Wherever I May Roam” and “Sad But True.” However, it does not lumber like those two AND might over time age, or season, better. No doubt this gets played on the forthcoming tour and those opening drums will solicit fist pumps from the crowd but needs more of the charisma accentuated by “Screaming Suicide” and “Lux Æterna.”

Hardly a throwaway or indicator of what’s to come, but if we keep going with the baseball imagery consider “If Darkness Had a Son” a sacrifice fly or perhaps a walk. Check out the video below or jump over to YouTube if grayed out.

Metallica 72 Seasons Song List:

  1. 72 Seasons
  2. Shadows Follow
  3. Screaming Suicide
  4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
  5. You Must Burn!
  6. Lux Æterna
  7. Crown of Barbed Wire
  8. Chasing Light
  9. If Darkness Had a Son
  10. Too Far Gone?
  11. Room of Mirrors
  12. Inamorata

11 thoughts on “Single Review: Metallica – If Darkness Had a Son

  1. I will have to give this one a listen. I did listen to the new Extreme track and its quite good….have u heard it yet?

      1. Ok so I like “Screaming Suicide” better soundwise, but the chorus for “If Darkness Had a Son” is annoynig catchy. I think the concept for the latter is cheesy.

Comments are closed.